Bruges

So Bruges is our second side trip during our break. I picked Bruges because I wanted to go to Belgium. Considering Belgium is in between the other countries we are visiting, it made logical sense. My good friend recommended Bruges over Brussels. Also, based on the  research I did over the two cities it seemed like Bruges came up quite often. Bruges is favored by people from the UK as a nice sleepy town getaway.  It took about four hours to arrive to Bruges from Amsterdam.

Initially I was appalled by the number of tourists here! It was just as crowded as when I visited Venice. Bruges is also famous for its canals like Venice and Amsterdam. What’s different from Amsterdam and Bruges is that Amsterdam is predominantly young people whereas Bruges feels like a place for adults and older people to hang out in.

So far I like the peacefulness of this city. It’s definitely a nice contrast from Amsterdam! I’ll post about food later!

Leave a Reply

