Jerusalem Artichokes

We learned about Jerusalem Artichokes, aka sunchokes, earlier this year when we attended Menu Minuet.  I’m not sure why they are called Jerusalem Artichokes because they aren’t related to Jerusalem or artichokes.  Anyway you can only get these in a small time period, we luckily saw them at the farmer’s market a few weeks ago!  They look like a cross between a fingerling potato and a ginger.  I asked the farmer what the best way to cook them.  He said to thinly slice them and sauté with salt/pepper.  I did some research and found that another blogger had them at ad hoc.  I wanted to prepare it similar to how Keller’s restaurant would!

I noticed that at ad hoc they left the skin on so I had to thoroughly clean the outside.  There was a lot of dirt on these guys, a vegetable brush would’ve helped a little since there are lots of nooks and crannies that you have to get into.   Just like a potato, if the skin is exposed it will turn pink.  So when you are selecting them, make sure to pick ones that do not have any pink on them, as that means the skin’s been exposed.

I drizzled them in olive oil, salt and pepper.  I baked them in the oven for about 20-25 minutes on 350 degrees.

They tasted like a starchy version of an artichoke heart.  You don’t really need to put sugar on them because they have a naturally sweet taste.  The parts that caramalized had a sweet, crunchy taste.  Overall these are pretty good.  So if you see them at the farmer’s market, you should definitely give them a try!  Now that I have an idea of how they taste, I would prepare them the same way as I would fingerling potatoes.  Ad hoc put some fresh thyme on them.  Next time I’m going to add some fresh chopped rosemary for a little bit of pizazz!

Leave a Reply

