Mexican Vanilla part two

Last Sunday I finally got to use the Mexican vanilla that I purchased back in August (I don’t bake too often!).  I made pancakes and a strawberry sauce from scratch!  It’s not that hard to make!

The pancake recipe I found on allrecipes.com.  With over 3000 reviews, you can’t go wrong with that choice right?  The only modifications I made was that I made the pancakes for two people and added a teaspoon of Mexican vanilla.

I improvised on the strawberry sauce.  We bought a ton of strawberries at the farmer’s market during the summer and froze them to use for an occasion like this. I melted a tablespoon of butter, a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar, a tablespoon of vanilla, 1/4 cup of powdered sugar, and a cup of the frozen strawberries.  Once the strawberries appeared to have defrosted fully, I blended the entire thing and there we have it!  Homemade strawberry sauce!   I added balsamic vinegar because it enhances the strawberry’s natural flavor.

This all took less than 1/2 an hour to make!  What a way to start a lazy Sunday.  Sorry I didn’t take photos, we ate them up really fast!

The Mexican vanilla was a bit of a disappointment.  Maybe it’s because I’m accustomed to using real vanilla extract?  I guess I was expecting something magical but I felt like the vanilla wasn’t as potent/concentrated as expected (or at least the locals kept telling me, don’t use that much!).  So as an FYI, Mexican vanilla is just as good as regular vanilla extract that you can get in the states.  Unless I’m doing something wrong?

Leave a Reply

