First half marathon

Up until 2009, I always hated running.  It just felt like so much work to run!  In February 2009, a bunch of coworkers started training for a half marathon and I decided to walk the 5k option.  As I waited for my coworkers to finish, I felt a little admiration for the fact that they even did this!  It made me think, wow, I wish I could run a half marathon too!  I thought walking a 5k wasn’t so bad so I started training for a 5k.  That first year I ran three more 5ks (Cinco de Mayo Run, Bruin run, and Cancer Challenge) with times between 33-42 minutes.  I started to get the hang of this running thing!  ❤ said that I should push myself to do a 10k (he has a knack for pushing me to try harder! <3).

This past year I did my first 10k during Super Bowl Sunday and it wasn’t so bad, I finished it in 66 minutes!  My second 10k (Santa Monica Classic) I finished in 64 minutes.  I decided it was time to run a half marathon.  Mainly because after the 10k, I didn’t feel super exhausted.  I felt like I was running at a pace that I could handle.  After the 10k, I felt like I could run more.  I even encouraged my friend X to run her first half marathon too!  I was excited to train for my first half marathon with two good gal pals!

I originally wanted to finish my first half marathon before I turned 30 but the most affordable/weather friendly marathon was October 24th.  My goal was to finish in 2.5 hours.  Mainly because I thought I’d have to do a lot of walking in the second part of the race.  X and I finished in 2 hours and 19 minutes!  It really helped running this with friends the entire way.  NEVER in my life did I ever think I could do this.  I’m still reveling over my accomplishment.  This reminds me of the high I felt when I climbed Machu Picchu (which I also happened to do with X!!).  These are the types of moments where I feel like I’ve done something that not everyone in the world has had a chance to do.  No one can take this moment/accomplishment away from me (things like a job promotion or money can easily be taken away from you).  Never say never people! 🙂

Can you tell I’m excited? 🙂

What should my next goal be?  <3, X and I have done a 50 mile bike ride.  I’m contemplating doing the century option next year!  As for a full marathon?  I really don’t think so.  I want to improve my half marathon time!

Leave a Reply

