On turning 3 decades old

I saw this and it seemed fitting for me to do mine, with my 30th bday just around the corner:

10 years ago today I would have
:: declared a major, Economics
:: my parents still living in CA
:: NEVER set foot on a plane

5 years ago today I would have been
:: learning to manage the first year of a long distance relationship and my parents moving to another state
:: lived with a roommate that had two cats
:: working at a bank

1 year ago today I would have been
:: in Napa for my bday
:: went to Mexico City for the first time
:: ran two 5k races and psyching myself for a 10k race

This year I
:: went to Brazil twice, Sao Paulo and Rio
:: will run my first half marathon with my good friends on 10/24
:: missed my goal of visiting 20 different countries by the age of 30. Since August 2002, I’ve been to 18 unique countries (where I stayed at least one night in); besides Mexico and Canada, I’ve visited 21 countries and 17 states in the United States.

Today I
:: attended my girlfriend’s engagement party
:: started enhancing our living arrangement (prettier dinner parties, yay!)

Next year I hope to
:: travel to other parts of Latin America, like Chile or Venezuela!
:: have planned the majority of our wedding
:: travel to Europe with Chris

In five years I hope to
:: travel to more countries
:: be happily married to Chris, no matter where we live
:: live in another country, but that’s wishful thinking ❤

When people turn 30, I always ask them, “is there anything you wish you had done before turning 30?”

Well now I’m going to answer my own question. I don’t have any regrets. I’m sooo fortunate that I got to travel so much for work and leisure. I think things happened the way it did for a reason. Cheers to turning 30! I’m ready to take you on.

3 thoughts on “On turning 3 decades old

Leave a Reply

